Anthony Greene

Just another WordPress.com site

Build server, NAnt and Vault intergration.

leave a comment »

I set out to move the Sem project to a fully automated daily buiid system about 3 weeks ago.  I estimated then that it would take me about 3 days to get the build intergration server done. 

I’m overshot my mark, more than just a little bit, severly understimating the work involved.  I’d like to think the end is nearly in sight, at least.  Every day, for the past 4 days, I’ve come into work in the morning (well, what’s morning for me… I guess that’s "lunch" for most people) and announced that I would be finished with the build server work by the end of the day.  And, well, there’s still quite a bit left to be done. 

To be fair on myself, the lion’s share of the work involved scripting out the databases.  If that process had already been implemented properly, this build server would probably have only taken a week.  Maybe a week and a half.

We’ve been faced with a lot of complication on the database scripting level.  Probably the biggest challenge has been learning (and learning to work around) the database replication job that we have set up on the Sem database.  Most of those kinks have now been worked out, and now I’m working on one of the final phases, the push from the Build server to the QA server. 

All in all, once I’m done with this, I expect that we here are Ardent Development will not know what we did without it.

Chalk one more up for the books… NAnt.  One more technology I started off hating…. and learned to love.

 

 

 

Written by anthonygreene

May 5, 2005 at 8:21 pm

Leave a Reply

