Anthony Greene

Just another WordPress.com site

This should be so simple

with 2 comments

I want to thank everyone who actually added a comment onto my previous blog posts, even if they do only come every 3 or 4 months.  Never in my wildest dreams did I ever expect anything I wrote here to ever get read by anyone.  It confirms my suspicions that Msn has really struck gold by integrating a blog site into Msn Messenger.  Now if only I could figure out their angle on how they plan to make money with it.  I suppose I should actually be careful with what I say on this thing :-D.
 
Anyway I’ve been poking around and trying to figure out how to execute a .bat file on a remote machine.  I need to do this so that I don’t need to Terminal Service over to my build server in order to manually start off a build.  I had figured this should be the the simplest thing in the world to do, but nowhere could I find someone who could tell me how to do this.
 
After some snooping around, I came across this page with some freeware server tools that has let me run a .bat file from my desktop.
 
 
It’s pretty simple.  I just downloaded PsExec, and created a new .bat in that directory with the following line:
 
psexec \\buildserver -w c:\dev\sem\build c:\dev\sem\build\run_nant.bat
 
 
I would still think that WinXp has a built in way to do this, but I’ve yet to come across it.  For now, this will do just fine.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Written by anthonygreene

August 22, 2005 at 11:54 am

2 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Awe come on Anthony, create an old asp page to do it. You could even have security on the file if you like. :))

    Dennis

    August 28, 2005 at 11:29 pm

  2. Hello Anthony! You can schedule a task on the remote computer using the built in "Task Scheduler". Perhaps have it run right away. B.T.W. I finally got around to asking Jay the big question. She said NO!, get your own beer!. heehee. Actually she said YES! Yee Haa! We are planning a Nov 2006 wedding in Puerto Vallarta. All are welcome, so start saving your Toonies!Bumbagito:-)

    Bruce

    November 18, 2005 at 8:25 pm


Leave a Reply

