Anthony Greene

Just another WordPress.com site

Argh. Seriously. Argh.

with 4 comments

It doesn’t take much to annoy me. This is not a fact that I
actually consider true about myself at all. I generally think of
myself as the very model of patience and tolerance for life’s little
hiccups and pitfalls.

Unfortunately, it seems that people around me, at least
those who have shared an office space with me, would wholeheartedly and
very quickly agree that it actually takes very little to set me off,
and once annoyed, I tend to be (very) vocal, and relish verbally exploring down to the very minutiae
of exactly what’s gotten under my skin. It appears that when it comes to
annoyance, I tend to be very detail-oriented. I must remember to
put that on my resume somewhere.

This may or may not be true. I don’t really want to get into the
merits of this argument, for or against. But while it may be true
that I will pretty quickly get into a rant about something that really
annoys me (I suppose that may be true… I do rant a lot) it takes a
very special and distinct level of annoyance to actually drive me to
this Space to write about it.

My rant today? Microsoft. Damn you. Microsoft.

I know. How very original of me.

Today I registered for a new hotmail address. See how I lost the battle with spam for why I want a new email address. So, just for kicks, I tried getting the very sexy, very professional anthony.greene@hotmail.com,
and holy smokes, would you believe it, it was actually
available!!! Now that’s an email address I can actually feel good about
putting on my resume. I definitely plan on using
anthony.greene@hotmail.com as my primary email address, and slowly
leave behind poor old agreene73@hotmail.com as its original, intended purpose, as a
spam-mail address.

I really like my msn space, even if I don’t write here very
often. And I would hate to lose it and start fresh again. It’s not that
any of my posts are particular gems.  It’s the comments that mean
so much to me.  Wow… my friends actually read this blog!!! 
What a tremendous opportunity for mind control….

I digress.

So I searched online to see if there is any way to change my MS Passport,
from agreene73@hotmail.com to anthony.greene@hotmail.com. I only
came up with one useful link, a blog entry from a Microsoft employee on
the msn Messenger team.

http://carnage4life.spaces.msn.com/blog/cns!616444EE7A34F417!416.entry?_c=BlogPart#permalink

The short version of this story? Your msn Space is associated
with your Passport. If you have a Passport associated
with an email address that is anything except @hotmail.com,
you are free to change it. If your Passport is tied to a hotmail
address, guess what, boys and girls? You are SOL. Sad
truth. Microsoft, in its glorious wisdom, has decided to better
support people with third-party email addresses, than its own loyal
hotmail user-base.

Written by anthonygreene

July 19, 2006 at 4:34 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Thats just plain funny. If you have a non ms address you can swap it out – lol. I feel for you man I really do 🙂

    Jason

    July 19, 2006 at 9:04 pm

  2. Haven\’t you remained in the same trap by using a new hotmail address? Why wouldn\’t you make the new address something like anthony.greene@gmail.com? You have something against google reading your mail?

    Taki

    July 21, 2006 at 10:03 am

  3. I\’m just a sucker for punishment, Taki.  Seriously though, I tried out a gmail account.  I was ticked off that I had missed out on anthony.greene@gmail.com.  (tony.greene was avaialbe… but I just wasn\’t going to go there.)
     
    I really didn\’t care too much for gmail.  I\’m not a very big fan of AJAX-based email services.  Of course, now hotmail is going in that direction too with Windows Live (ugh.. horrible name).
     
    The part I missed most about my Hotmail account was the email notification with MSN messenger.  Gmail is still tempting because I would like to abandon Outlook Express for my home mail client and use Thunderbird, which Microsoft just won\’t let me do.

    Anthony Greene

    July 21, 2006 at 11:42 am

  4. To be perfectly, completely honest though, if I had managed to get anthony.greene@gmail.com, I would probably be using that to this day.  But I\’m pleased as punch to get anthony.greene@hotmail.com, and that\’s a good enough runner up prize.
     

    Anthony Greene

    July 21, 2006 at 11:46 am


Leave a Reply

